Skip to main content

People

Full Directory

 

A


Profile photo

Abdolrahim, Niaz

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
niaz@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7817
404 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Multiscale Modeling of Materials; Nanoporous Materials; Nanowires; Thin Films; Atomistic Simulations

Profile photo

Aluie, Hussein

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
hussein@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7170
406 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Turbulence; Geophysical Fluid Dynamics; Compressible Flows; Magnetohydrodynamics; Hydrodynamic Instabilities

UR photo

Ansini, Sarah

Graduate Coordinator
sansini@hse.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2849
235 Hopeman

Profile photo

Askari, Hesam

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
askari@rochester.edu | (585) 276-6660
343 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Mechanics of Solids and soft matter; Granular systems; Stocahstic response ; Manufacturing techniques

B


Profile photo

Betti, Riccardo

Robert L. McCrory Professor, The Laboratory for Laser Energetics
Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Physics and Astronomy
Director, Fusion Science Center of Extreme States of Matter and Fast Ignition
Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics

riccardo.betti@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5479
212 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Thermonuclear plasmas; Controlled thermonuclear fusion; Magnetic and inertial confinement fusion; High-energy-density physics

Profile Image

Burns, Stephen J.

Professor Emeritus, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor Emeritus, Materials Science

stephen.j.burns@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4082
219 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Fracture Mechanics Applied to Grinding; Polishing, Adhesion and Slitting; Deformation Kinetics; Thermodynamic Energy Balances in Linear Systems

C


Profile Image

Clark, Robert

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Provost, and Senior Vice President for Research

rclark@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4151
309 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Dynamic systems; Measurement and control; Single-molecule mechanics; Bio-nano-manufacturing; Scaffolds for tissue engineering

Faculty profile photo

Clark, Alfred, Jr.

Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering, Mathematics, and Biomedical Engineering
clark@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4078
329 Hopeman Hall
Website

Interests: Astrophysical fluid dynamics; Oxygen transport; Disease transmission and epidemics

Gilbert 'Rip' Collins

Collins, Gilbert 'Rip'

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy

g.w.collins@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0255
307 Hopeman

Interests: Laboratory Astrophysics; High Pressure/High Energy Density Physics; Condensed Matter; Planetary Science; Plasma Physics ; Thermonuclear Fusion

D


Profile Photo

Dias, Ranga

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
rdias@rochester.edu | (585) 276-4112
220 Hopeman
Website

Interests: High Temperature superconductivity; Quantum phase transitions; Dynamic response of solids; Novel material synthesis; High pressure NV optical magnetometry; High energy density physics

E


Profile Image

Ellis, Jonathan D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Assistant Professor, The Institute of Optics

j.d.ellis@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4844
215 Hopeman Building
Website

Interests: Instrumentation; Metrology; Optical Interferometry; Precision Engineering; Machine Design

F


Profile Image

Funkenbusch, Paul D.

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Materials Science

paul.funkenbusch@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4074
222 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Microstructure, properties, and processing of materials; Variability in materials and processing especially as related to biomaterials and mechanics; Experimental design/robust design

G


Roger Gans

Gans, Roger F.

Professor Emeritus, Department of Mechanical Engineering
roger.gans@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2123
330 Hopeman Hall
Website

Interests: Nonlinear dynamics; Stability and control; nonNewtonian fluid mechanics

Victor L. Genberg

Genberg, Victor L.

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
genberg@sigmadyne.com | (585) 235-7460
409 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Finite element analysis; Optimum structural design using nonlinear programming; Structural analysis of precision optical structures; Integrated opto-mechanical analysis and design

Valeri Goncharov

Goncharov, Valeri

Assistant Professor (Research), Department of Mechanical Engineering
Senior Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics

vgon@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5877

Interests: Computational physics; Fluid mechanics; Partial differential equations with applications in fluid mechanics; Hydrodynamic instabilities; Plasma physics

Sheryl M. Gracewski

Gracewski, Sheryl M.

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

sheryl.gracewski@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7853
217 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Solid mechanics, more specifically in wave propagation and vibrations in elastic media; Bubble dynamics; Optics manufacturing and metrology

Luca Guazzotto

Guazzotto, Luca

Assistant Professor (Research), Department of Mechanical Engineering
luca.guazzotto@rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Magnetic Confinement Fusion; Magnetohydrodynamics; Numerical Modeling of Plasmas; Plasma Physics

H


UR photo

Haring, Tal

Information Analyst
tharing3@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4072
235 Hopeman

K


Douglas H. Kelley

Kelley, Douglas H.

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
d.h.kelley@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7769
218 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Mixing and transport in fluids; Liquid metal batteries; Geophysical fluid dynamics; Dynamical systems

UR photo

Klinkbeil, Sara

Undergraduate Coordinator
sklinkbe@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4753
235 Hopeman

UR photo

Knaak, Eric

Technical Associate
eric.knaak@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4553
103 Hopeman

UR photo

Kosciewicz, Emily

Student Assistant
emily.kosciewicz@rochester.edu
235 Hopeman

L


John Lambropoulos

Lambropoulos, John

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Materials Science
Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Senior Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics
Chair, Materials Science Graduate Recruiting Committee

john.lambropoulos@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4071
236 Hopeman

Interests: Micromechanics; Mechanics & Materials Issues in Optics Manufacturing; Defect Generation During Crystal Growth

Amy L. Lerner

Lerner, Amy L.

Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor, Department of Orthopaedics

amlerner@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7847
307 Goergen
Website

Interests: Orthopaedic biomechanics; Biomechanics of bone growth and development; Medical image based modeling of knee mechanics

James C. M. Li

Li, James C. M.

Professor Emeritus, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor Emeritus, Materials Science

james.li@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4038
221 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Materials science and micromechanics; Platinum nanowires and networks as fuel cell electrodes; Whisker growth from tin coatings; Nanocrystalline materials

M


Andrei Maximov

Maximov, Andrei

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics

amax@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1440

Interests: Theoretical plasma physics; Inertial confinement fusion; High-energy-density physics

Robert L. McCrory

McCrory, Robert L.

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Director of the Laboratory for Laser Energetics
rmcc@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4973
231 Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Interests: Theoretical Plasma and Laser Physics; Hydrodynamic stability; Thermal transport in laser-driven plasmas; Inertial confinement fusion

UR photo

Morris, Jill

Administrator
jill.morris@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4048
235 Hopeman

Chris Muir

Muir, Chris

Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
christopher.muir@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7171
407 Hopeman

N


Jong Hoon Nam

Nam, Jong Hoon

Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

nam@me.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4555
212 Hopeman Building
Website

Interests: Biophysics of inner ear sensory cells; Cell and tissue mechanics

P


Renato Perucchio

Perucchio, Renato

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Program Director, Archaeology, Technology, and Historical Structures

rlp@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4069
415 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Computational solid and structural mechanics; Engineering practices in Classical Antiquity

UR photo

Pomerantz, Mike

Technical Associate II
mpomera2@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4553
103 Hopeman

UR photo

Pratt, Christine

Senior Technical Associate
pratt@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7807
115 Hopeman

R


Chuang Ren

Ren, Chuang

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Associate Professor, Department of Physics
Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics

chuang.ren@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2048
214 Hopeman

Interests: High energy density physics (HEDP); Plasma astrophysics; High performance computing

UR photo

Russell, Scott

Senior Technical Associate
rorusse@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2942
120 Hopeman

Profile Photo

Rygg, J. Ryan

Assistant Professor (Research), Department of Mechanical Engineering
Assistant Professor (Research), Department of Physics
Senior Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics

j.r.rygg@rochester.edu | (585) 475-1549
307 Hopeman

Interests: Experimental high-energy-density physics; shock waves; inertial confinement fusion

S


Photo unavailable

Sefkow, Adam

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Senior Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics

asef@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 276-4130
205 Hopeman

Interests: Inertial confinement fusion; magneto-inertial fusion; high energy density physics; laser-plasma interaction; computational physics; magnetohydrodynamics; particle-in-cell simulations

Jessica Shang

Shang, Jessica

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
jshang4@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2730
330 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Experimental fluid mechanics; vortex dynamics; biological fluid systems (physiology, movement of plants and animals); fluid-structure interactions

T


John H. Thomas

Thomas, John H.

Professor Emeritus, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Sciences
Professor Emeritus, Department of Physics and Astronomy

thomas@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4083
223 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Astrophysical fluid dynamics; Magnetohydrodynamics of the Sun and other stars