Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences Department of Mechanical Engineering

Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Faculty

NameResearch InterestContact Information
Hussein Aluie
Hussein Aluie
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering


Turbulence

Geophysical Fluid Dynamics

Compressible Flows

Magnetohydrodynamics

Hydrodynamic Instabilities
hussein@rochester.edu

(585) 276-7170

406 Hopeman
Ricardo Betti
Riccardo Betti
Robert L. McCrory Professor at the Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Professor Mechanical Engineering and of Physics and Astronomy

Director, Fusion Science Center of Extreme States of Matter and Fast Ignition

Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics


Thermonuclear plasmas

Controlled thermonuclear fusion

Magnetic and inertial confinement fusion

High-energy-density physics
riccardo.betti@rochester.edu

(585) 275-5479

212 Hopeman Hall
Steven Burns
Stephen J. Burns
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Materials Science


Fracture Mechanics Applied to Grinding

Polishing, Adhesion and Slitting

Deformation Kinetics

Thermodynamic Energy Balances in Linear Systems
stephen.j.burns@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4082

219 Hopeman Hall
Robert Clark
Robert Clark
Professor of Mechanical Engineering


Dynamic systems

Measurement and control

Single-molecule mechanics

Bio-nano-manufacturing

Scaffolds for tissue engineering
rclark@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4151

309 Lattimore Hall
Alfred Clark
Alfred Clark, Jr.
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Professor of Mathematics


Astrophysical fluid dynamics

Oxygen transport

Disease transmission and epidemics
clark@me.rochester.edu

(585) 275-4078

329 Hopeman Hall
Jonathan Ellis
Jonathan D. Ellis
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Assistant Professor of Optics


Instrumentation

Metrology

Optical Interferometry

Precision Engineering

Machine Design
j.d.ellis@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4844

215 Hopeman Building
Paul Funkenbusch
Paul D. Funkenbusch
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Materials Science


Relationships among the microstructure, properties and processing of materials

Experimental design/robust design
paul.funkenbusch@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4074

222 Hopeman Hall
Roger Gans
Roger F. Gans
Professor of Mechanical Engineering


Nonlinear dynamics

Stability and control

nonNewtonian fluid mechanics
roger.gans@rochester.edu

(585) 275-2123

330 Hopeman Hall
Victor Genberg
Victor L. Genberg
Professor of Mechanical Engineering


Finite element analysis

Optimum structural design using nonlinear programming

Structural analysis of precision optical structures

Integrated opto-mechanical analysis and design
genberg@sigmadyne.com

(585) 235-7460

409 Hopeman Hall
Valeri Goncharov
Valeri Goncharov
Adjunct Professor of Mechanical Engineering


Senior Scientist
Laboratory for Laser Energetics
Computational physics

Fluid mechanics

Partial differential equations with applications in fluid mechanics

Hydrodynamic instabilities

Plasma physics
vgon@lle.rochester.edu

(585) 235-7460
Sheryl Gracewski
Sheryl M. Gracewski
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Biomedical Engineering


Solid mechanics, more specifically in wave propagation and vibrations in elastic media

Bubble dynamics

Optics manufacturing and metrology
sheryl.gracewski@rochester.edu

(585) 275-7853

217 Hopeman Hall

Luca Guazzotto
Assistant Professor (Research)


Magnetic Confinement Fusion

Magnetohydrodynamics

Numerical Modeling of Plasmas

Plasma Physics
luca.guazzotto@rochester.edu

Douglas H. Kelley
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering


mixing and transport in fluids

liquid metal batteries

geophysical fluid dynamics

dynamical systems
d.h.kelley@rochester.edu

(585) 275-7769

218 Hopeman
John Lambropoulos
John Lambropoulos
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and of Materials Science

Director, Materials Science Program

Senior Scientist in the Laboratory for Laser Energetics


Department Chair
Materials Science Program
Micromechanics

Mechanics & Materials Issues in Optics Manufacturing

Defect Generation During Crystal Growth
john.lambropoulos@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4070

236 Hopeman
Amy Lerner
Amy L. Lerner
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Associate Professor of Orthopaedics


Orthopaedic biomechanics

Biomechanics of bone growth and development

Medical image based modeling of knee mechanics
amlerner@me.rochester.edu

(585) 275-7847

307 Goergen
James Li
James C. M. Li
Albert Arendt Hopeman Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Materials Science


Materials science and micromechanics

Platinum nanowires and networks as fuel cell electrodes

Whisker growth from tin coatings

Nanocrystalline materials
james.li@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4038

221 Hopeman Hall
Andrei Maximov
Andrei Maximov
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering


Scientist
Laboratory for Laser Energetics
Theoretical plasma physics

Inertial confinement fusion

High-energy-density physics
amax@lle.rochester.edu

(585) 275-1440
Robert McCrory
Robert L. McCrory
Director of the Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Physics and Astronomy


Theoretical Plasma and Laser Physics

Hydrodynamic stability

Thermal transport in laser-driven plasmas

Inertial confinement fusion
rmcc@lle.rochester.edu

(585) 275-4973

231 Laboratory for Laser Energetics
David Meyerhofer
David D. Meyerhofer
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Physics and Astronomy


Senior Scientist
Laboratory for Laser Engergetics
High energy density and plasma physics

Controlled nuclear fusion

Interaction of high intensity laser pulses with various forms of matter
ddm@lle.rochester.edu

(585) 275-0255

207 Laboratory for Laser Energetics
Jong Hoon Nam
Jong Hoon Nam
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering


Biophysics of inner ear sensory cells

Cell and tissue mechanics
nam@me.rochester.edu

(585) 273-4555

212 Hopeman Building
Renato Perucchio
Renato Perucchio
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and of Biomedical Engineering


Program Director
Archeology, Technology, and Historical Structures
Computational solid and structural mechanics

Engineering practices in Classical Antiquity
rlp@me.rochester.edu

(585) 275-4069

415 Hopeman
David Quesnel
David J. Quesnel
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Materials Science


Next Generation Piezoelectrics

Computer Simulation of Corrosion

Stress Corrosion Cracking
david.quesnel@rochester.edu

(585) 275-5215

220 Hopeman Hall
Chuang Ren
Chuang Ren
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Associate Professor of Physics


Scientist
Laboratory for Laser Energetics
High energy density physics (HEDP)

Plasma astrophysics

High performance computing
chuang.ren@rochester.edu

(585) 275-2048

214 Hopeman
Albert Simon
Albert Simon
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering and Physics


Senior Scientist
Laboratory for Laser Energetics
simon@me.rochester.edu

(585) 275-4431

212 Hopeman Hall
John Thomas
John H. Thomas
Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Sciences

Professor of Astronomy




Astrophysical fluid dynamics

Magnetohydrodynamics of the Sun and other stars
thomas@me.rochester.edu

(585) 275-4083

223 Hopeman Hall

People